District News

  • Mon, 20 Sep 2021 11:58:48 MST

    Franklin East Elementary has been named a 2021 National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education. Only five schools in Arizona received the award this year. Nationwide, 325 schools were recognized for overall excellence. "This year's cohort of honorees demonstrates what is possible when committed educators and school leaders create vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school...
  • Fri, 06 Aug 2021 09:22:36 MST

    Eisenhower Center for Innovation and Stevenson Elementaryhave received a Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers grant to support after-school programs on site.The grant provides funding that enables each school to provide targeted after-school services, designed to meet the needs of their student populations. All services aim to help students succeed academically,...
  • Mon, 02 Aug 2021 12:04:28 MST

    Parents of ninth-graders are invited to preview the district's opt-in sexual-awareness curriculum Aug. 9; parents of seventh-graders, Aug. 16
  • Mon, 29 Mar 2021 13:35:12 MST

    Mesa Public Schools has launched a new partnership to improve social and emotional wellness among students, staff and the community. The goal of Move One Mesa is to ignite a culture of learning and well-being throughout the city. Health and fitness expert Chris Powell partnered with Mesa Public Schools, City of Mesa and Mesa Chamber of Commerce to debut his Move One Million...
  • Wed, 23 Sep 2020 13:12:23 MST

    The Franklin at Brimhall Elementary and Franklin Junior High principal received the award at a top-secret ceremony September 21, 2020.
  • Wed, 16 Sep 2020 15:38:09 MST

    The seal, awarded to the opportunity & achievement department, recognizes the district's commitment to whole-child education.
  • Mon, 14 Sep 2020 13:06:00 MST

    Fifty-four district schools have earned a spot on the list of America's Healthiest Schools 2020 by the Alliance for a Healthier Generation, receiving national recognition for a commitment to student and staff health and well-being. Mesa Public Schools received the most awards in the nation for a single public school district. Nationwide, 518 schools were selected based on a rigorous set of...
  • Thu, 10 Sep 2020 13:21:05 MST

    (Press release provided by City of Mesa) The City of Mesa, in partnership with Mesa Public Schools, will be offering COVID-19 testing and flu shots in a series of public events on five consecutive Saturdays. Testing events are being held in zip codes experiencing higher numbers of positive COVID-19 rates, including 85201, 850202, 85203, 85204 and 85210. Events will be held from 9 a.m. to 12...
  • Mon, 03 Aug 2020 11:35:49 MST

    Parents of ninth-graders are invited to preview the district's sexual-awareness curriculum Aug. 10; parents of seventh-graders, Aug. 19.
  • Thu, 02 Jul 2020 16:09:52 MST

    Learn more about the Safe. Strong. Ready. school opening plan.
  • Tue, 14 Apr 2020 21:24:37 MST

    At the April 14 meeting, the Mesa Public Schools Governing Board voted to enter into contract negotiations with Dr. Andi Fourlis as the next superintendent of schools. Appointing a superintendent is one of the primary jobs of a Governing Board. The board worked diligently on this process for months and considered community feedback from surveys, stakeholder meetings and focus groups. "Dr....
  • Thu, 02 Apr 2020 13:41:58 MST

    The public is invited to join Mesa Public Schools for the April 6, 2020, Meet the Finalists livestream event to learn more about the candidates for superintendent of schools.
  • Fri, 27 Mar 2020 17:09:10 MST

    At a special board meeting March 27, 2020, the Mesa Public Schools Governing Board selected three finalists for the position of superintendent of schools. The finalists are: Dr. Andi Fourlis, current deputy superintendent at Mesa Public Schools Dr. Heath Morrison, current president of the School group at McGraw-Hill Education Mrs. Holly Williams, current executive director of master...
  • Wed, 29 Jan 2020 17:01:10 MST

    The Mesa Public Schools Governing Board has retained McPherson & Jacobson, LLC, to assist in their search for a new superintendent. The board seeks input from community stakeholders as an important element of the search process. Parents, staff, students and members of the community are encouraged to participate in an anonymous online survey to share their thoughts about the state of the...
  • Mon, 13 Jan 2020 11:17:10 MST

    Crismon, Redbird and Washington elementary schools have received free water filling stations, thanks to a donation from Plastic Ocean International’s Rethink.Refill.initiative. The initiative, which is a partnership with Arizona-based firm Footprint, also provided 100 stainless steel reusable water bottles to each school. “Rethink.Refill. is an opportunity to prepare the next...
  • Thu, 19 Dec 2019 11:29:18 MST

    Red Mountain High senior Bella Moya has been named a nominee for the U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education Program.Moya received the nomination for her research in the biotechnology program at Red Mountain High School. She is one of five Arizona nominees. Each nominee is selected based on academic rigor, technical competence, employability skills, and ingenuity and...
  • Tue, 12 Nov 2019 15:38:00 MST

    In summer 2019, Arizona Superintendent of Public Instruction Kathy Hoffman approached Mesa Public Schools Superintendent Ember Conley with an idea: a pilot partnership between the district and Arizona Department of Economic Security. The goal? To help alleviate a classified employee shortage. "Running a successful school takes a team of talented professionals working alongside our educators, but...
  • Tue, 15 Oct 2019 15:26:47 MST

    Mesa Public Schools received the most awards in the nation for a single school district.
  • Mon, 30 Sep 2019 12:56:49 MST

    Tamara Scott, an American Sign Language teacher at Mountain View High School, has received a Fulbright Distinguished Award in Teaching Short Term Program (DAST) grant from the U.S. Department of State. Recipients of the grant are selected on the basis of leadership potential, and academic and professional achievement. She is one of 13 K-12 teachers who will travel abroad as part of Cycle II of...
  • Mon, 30 Sep 2019 11:03:09 MST

    Red Mountain High freshman Rylan Gardner has been named a finalist in the Broadcom MASTERS competition. Nationwide, 30 out of 2,348 student applicants are selected as finalists for the Broadcom MASTERS (Math, Applied Science, Technology and Engineering for Rising Stars) competition. The program seeks to inspire young scientists, engineers and innovators. Gardner will next compete in Washington,...

Mesa Public Schools

As Arizona's largest school district, Mesa Public Schools is nationally recognized for excellence in teaching and support services, and for student achievement in academics, sports, creative and performing arts, and career and technical programs.

We offer many options for students in preschool through 12th grade. MPS is a leader in providing outstanding K-12 comprehensive programs at all of our neighborhood schools and an exciting variety of educational choices for families.